Letter to the Editor: From Here to Diversity?

I am writing this letter as a follow up to my letter printed in the Spectator on 6 June 2018 regarding staffing at CBRM.

Civic Centre, CBRM

Civic Centre, CBRM

Since then, CBRM posted a call for expression of interest from citizens willing to serve on the CBRM Diversity Committee and as a result the following citizens have been selected as members:

African Nova Scotia Community
Andrea Hawley
Mental Health Community
Keith Anderson
Newcomer Community
Hind Eloukkal
First Nation Community
Jennifer Jesty
Women’s Group
Ann McPhee
Disability Community
Raymond Young
Gay, Lesbian & Transgendered Community
Eli Quirk
Cape Breton University
Victor Tomiczek Jr.
Cape Breton Victoria Regional School Board
Community Member at Large
Shannon Long
Community Member at Large
Stephanie McCormick
Community Member at Large
Don Vickers

The committee has not yet had an orientation on the committee mandate or a meeting but can be contacted, according to CBRM officials, at this email address.

I wish CBRM and the newly formed Diversity Committee complete success as it transitions into modern-day staffing for the 21st Century.

Ray MacDonald









The Cape Breton Spectator is entirely reader supported. Please consider subscribing today!